Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween!  I’m free!  I’m back!  I’m…so f***ing tired…CANDY!


“So, what are you supposed to be?”

“I’m a fairy! Duh!”

Halloween2015 - pic1

“How was I supposed to know?!  You don’t have wings or anything!”

“Hey guys!  Check it out!”

Donovan skidded into the room.

Halloween2015 - pic2

“I’m an alien! Get it?”

Groans from around the room signaled that, yes, everyone had gotten the joke.

“Yeah, yeah, that’s hilarious.  Now, where’s your sister?”

Halloween2015 - pic3

“Lucy’s still getting dressed.”

“No, I’m not.  I’m right here.”  Lucy twirled into the room.  She’d been holed up in her room, working on her costume, everyday all month.  It had paid off.

Halloween2015 - pic4

Thomas whistled.  “Wowee, Lucy!  That’s amazing!”

“I got the idea from Medea, actually.  She suggested we go as a group.  So, Shaye’s the fairy godmother, I’m the princess and she’s my prince charming!”  Lucy beamed.  Medea scowled.

“Great costumes, guys!  Can you guess what I am?”

“Oh!  Oh!  I know!  A castaway!”

“Got it in one!”

Halloween2015 - pic5

“Ahahahaha!” Donovan cackled and ran around the room

“So, what are you?” Thomas asked.

“Mad scientist,” Chloe replied after a moment of hesitation.

“You forgot Spooky Day was today, didn’t you?”

“…maybe a little.”

Halloween2015 - pic6

“Alright, is that everyone?  Let’s get out to the van!  The Festival only happens once a year!”

“Yes!  Finally!”

“Festival, here I come!”

Halloween2015 - pic7

The Mayfield family piled into their ancient van and set out for Central Park.  The Spooky Day Festival was in full swing when they got there.  There was bobbing for apples and pumpkin carving and face painting and even a haunted house.

Halloween2015 - pic8

“Sweet!  Haunted house!  Lucy!  C’mon!”

“But!  Ghosts—”

“C’mon!”

Halloween2015 - pic9

Shaye sat down to carve a pumpkin with an incredibly sharp knife, while Donovan terrified a local.  Thomas, blissfully unaware of the chaos about to ensue, ran over to his girlfriend.  Chloe headed for the concession stands.  She had a weakness for pumpkin-spice lattes.

Halloween2015 - pic10

A little after ten, the results of the costume competition came out.  The Mayfield girls, due to Lucy’s experienced sewing, had placed first in the group competition.  And, for literally just throwing on an old labcoat and spraying some ketchup on it, Chloe had won the single adult.

Halloween2015 - pic11

“This has been the most amazing Spooky Day, ever!” Donovan declared as they all meandered back to the van.  He stuffed another glob of cotton candy into his mouth.  Shaye nodded, licking her fingers. She’d already finished off her bag.

“You know what, it was,” Medea agreed, smiling happily while holding a giant stuffed spider.

“Yeah!  Not even the haunted house was that bad!”  Lucy twirled around once more before climbing after her twin into the car.

“Yeah.” Chloe mumbled, turning back to the Festival once more.  “It was pretty nice.”

“Hey, Chloe!  Chloe!”


Chloe’s PoV

“Chloe!  Are you even listening?”

My eyes popped open.  “Hm?”

Thomas sighed.  “Nevermind.”  He shook his head and walked away, chuckling.

Halloween2015 - pic12

I stared forward.  A dream.  It had all been a dream.


This was soooooooooo much harder than I thought it would be!  How do you people do this for every chapter!  Getting sims into just the right positions is like herding cats!  WTF!

You people, who plan out each pose before you even go into game, HOW DO YOU DO IT?!?!?!?!  I am in awe.  Just…in awe.  You guys are awesome.  I will never do this again.

18 Comments

  1. I don’t plan my poses before the game. I have an idea of what I want to do in the next chapter, and I search for appropriate poses (unless I already have them) and then go in game and off I go. So maybe I do plan before hand. I dunno. meh. I like poses, I find them fun! Great chapter btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries, I was mostly referring to LilyShadowWriter. I recall her mentioning how she writes out chapters ahead of time, then creates them in game. After this experience, I think it’s magic. O.O

      Maybe I just suck at herding sims! XD

      Thanks! ^_^

      Like

        1. XD Yes, after this train wreck, I agree. What she does is magic, especially as she’s a graduate student on top of everything else! I admit, her story is one of the VERY best I’ve ever read, and that must be due, at least in part, with how she plans ahead. I just know that I can’t do that. I’m WAAAAAAY too lazy. You guys are lucky I even got that Halloween piece out! XD

          Like

        2. There are a few others that are not being written anymore, The Drake Family Secrets is great (it’s linked on my page) but as I said the author has disappeared 😦 Lily’s are AWESOME I live for her trip weekly posts!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I write my storyline out, then type it up. I also write the ideas of how i want the Sims to be, then i used poses, snap the pictures, edit then type it up, edit again and finally post. I’m new to whole blogging thing, I run my own page on facebook. It takes me months to post something. I need it to be perfect.. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well all the trouble to create this was great, I think!! You did really well, and it was nice to see all the characters in this Halloween setting. But haha I could see how posing everything would be strenuous, and I love the way you’re narrating your story through actual gameplay! I don’t know, a lot of the legacies I read do the posing and whatnot so the Mayfields is sort of different from others that I’ve seen but THE STORY IS SO GOOD! It works for you!! Everyone’s costumes were very fitting also, especially Donovan’s XD that’s great. I wish the Mayfields could really have a stress free Halloween!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The posing…O_O…I don’t know how others do it…I just don’t know…I didn’t even use pose packs! I was just herding them into the right activities and frames! O_O

      Thank you! I have an over-active imagination, but am incredibly lazy. I’m glad it somehow works! XD

      I couldn’t resist dressing Donovan up as an alien. It was too good to pass up! XD

      Thanks for stopping by! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this Halloween chapter! And…

    … I don’t know if you are actually interested but I thought to share with you my ‘know-how’ on creating a story w/o poses and my play/write mode in general 🙂

    I created a ‘mother storyline’ for my legacy that focuses on the most important events in the lives of my Sims. For the moment I have things planned ahead until the birth of the 4th generation, but my usual process of creating a chapter is simply playing while following the wishes (or better, trying to follow them), taking screenshots of the right animations (!) – meaning pausing very often during a specific action (I don’t know about any other way to get THE expression), LOL – and then writing the text based on what actually happened in game… I think that the game itself gives you hints for the story, then it’s up to you to connect the pieces together and enrich them with an interesting plot…

    … unless you’re a professional writer and use the Sims to get the imagery for your AWESOMELY WRITTEN STORY. Not my case 😀

    Oh and speaking of hints… I think that the WA expansion pack is really great for that! I guess you can confirm that yourself 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m always interested to hear about other people’s writing/planning styles! I find it fascinating and stuff to learn from. 🙂

      For every chapter (aside from this one), I just play my game and write what happens. I guess I do also have a “mother storyline”, the whole “Landgraab Labs is out to get Donovan” thing, but it’s not something that will span generations. At least I hope not! 0_0 I don’t have a good enough attention span! XD But I don’t even think about that overall plot unless something happens in game that I think I can use to move along that overall plot. Otherwise, there’s never a plot until I sit down to write.

      I usually take notes while I play. Usually whenever something interesting happens or something out of the normal. I also have a log of all the births and deaths around town, but I don’t really use it. I was fascinated with the newspaper reporting that stuff when I first started playing the Sims 3 (still am!) so I always make a note of either in any town I play. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m religious with checking the newspaper! 😉 Everyday, without fail, I’ve got someone out there reading it. With the Mayfields it was usually Bernard until Susan joined the family again as an astronaut. Astronauts only work one day a week, so she was basically sat around in her jammies all day anyway! XD

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Of course Lucy would be planning her costume for a month and of course Chloe would have forgotten all about it! Donovan was something else with his more than obvious costume! 😂 I know it was all a dream but still, good stuff! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

