2.33 – Something to Celebrate

Chloe’s PoV

Ever since I was a little girl, I always knew I was going to be a surgeon. I worked towards that goal right up to Daddy’s death. Now, I can’t imagine doing anything else but programming. It’s what I’m good at, what I love, and it pays very well. At least, programming for the video game industry does.

2.33 - pic1

It can be frustrating, especially when project leads decide to switch platforms midway through programming! But overall, enjoyable and rewarding. I work with interesting people from a diverse range of backgrounds and experiences. I work when I want to, which allows me plenty of time for my…hobbies.

2.33 - pic2

The idea came to me as I was helping Thomas with gathering the laundry. It took far too much time for such a menial task. Why not do it another way? A more efficient way? So I decided to build a robot.

2.33 - pic3

It’s taking quite a lot of time and effort, but I do believe it will be worth it in the end. Even if I end up swallowing a few nanites between now and then.

2.33 - pic4

Today marked the beginning of Donovan’s, Lucy’s and Medea’s first and last year of high school. Donovan hadn’t been able to keep asking questions about it all weekend. I’d let Thomas handle them. My high school experience had been…less than ideal.

2.33 - pic5

“Now that you guys’ve got your classes lined up, there’s all sorts of clubs and stuff you can sign up for,” Thomas told them, passing a pamphlet over to Lucy.

“Many of which look excellent on college applications,” I chimed in.

“Shut up, Chloe,” Medea responded immediately, not even glancing in my direction.

2.33 - pic6

“Oh. My. Gosh!” Lucy exclaimed excitedly. “They have an art club! Oh my gosh! Can I have $50?!”

2.33 - pic7

“Why?!”

“For the Art Club fee!”

I glanced over her shoulder at the pamphlet. “When did clubs start charging fees?”

Thomas peered over my shoulder. “I think it’s an art thing. You know, to pay for all the paints and st—”

“Drama!” Donovan shrieked and started laughing. “I’m trying out Drama Club!” When he noticed all of us staring at him, he scratched the back of his head and apologized. “Sorry, got caught up in the moment.”

2.33 - pic8

“Uh, okay. So we’ve got art for Lucy, drama for Donovan. Medea! What’d you wanna join?”

Medea glared at the pamphlet like it had personally offended her. “Nothing.”

Thomas looked up in surprise. “Really? There’s a shop class.”

“No! I’m not spending a second longer than I have to in that building!” Then she stomped out towards the garage.

I shrugged. “She has a worthy project in mind. If she dislikes the clubs, leave her to it.” Thomas nodded.

2.33 - pic9

“Alrighty, kids!” Thomas clapped his hands and grinned. “You’ve got fifteen minutes to grab your stuff, then we’re out the door!”

“Not me!” Shaye’s mouth lazily stretched into a grin. She handed a hacked apart envelope over to me.

I stared at the letter. I blinked. “I cannot believe it,” I murmured.

“Holy shit,” Thomas muttered from behind me. “She did it. She actually did it! Shaye! You passed the GED! Oh my god!”

Everyone started screaming and hollering, all congratulating Shaye.

2.33 - pic10

Amazingly, she had passed with incredibly high marks! Her mathematics and writing sections were less than stellar, but her marks in the sciences, particularly biology and chemistry, were outstanding!

“Now,” Shaye began once most everyone had calmed down (Donovan was currently during laps around the couch, Medea in tow). “About that dog?” I’d never seen her look so smug.

What else could I do? After dropping Medea, Lucy and Donovan off at school, I drove her down to the county animal shelter and let her pick one out. After two hours of tears and plenty of begging to take every last animal home, enough to make me feel like a monster, a brown spotted mutt became the new Mayfield.

2.33 - pic11

I made the mistake of calling him “lucky” in comparison to the other animals. And Shaye decided to name him that. Lucky. It was certainly better than her first thought, which was “Mushroom”. Something about the shape of a splotch on his back.

Lucky was a little shy around most humans, but incredibly curious and self-reliant. Technically, he was Shaye’s dog, but we all adored him. He was soft and huggable and incredibly independent for a canine! I left him alone in the house for a few hours and came back to find him happily playing with his ball, nothing destroyed.

It was obvious who his favorite human was. Shaye spent every free moment with him. Even when she went out to tend to her garden, he ran out with her and just played in the surf until she was done.

2.33 - pic12

That evening we had a pile of celebrations to attend to. Shaye had essentially skipped over high school and become an adult in the eyes of society. Medea, Lucy and Donovan had successfully entered high school in their proper age group and would graduate on schedule. Lucky became a part of the family. Thomas and I had both recently obtained very nice promotions at work and were making enough to comfortably support everyone.

So, we held a little party. Part celebratory…

2.33 - pic13

…part welcoming…

2.33 - pic14

…part birthday…

2.33 - pic15

…all cake. At least, according to Shaye.

2.33 - pic16

Everything was working out wonderfully.


Woo!  Shaye graduates and joins Chloe and Thomas as a Young Adult!  It was actually a really close thing with her.  After moving everyone over to the new world, all the teenagers’ grades were set to C’s and then Shaye was absent-minded and skipped a day, so got dropped to a D.  That was 2 days before she was due to age up.  But she made it!  With the help of some opportunities.  Got that A and was given Great Kisser as her 5th trait.  Free love, man.

Also!  Shaye has claimed her spot on the Downloads list!  Check her out!  And if you’re curious about our new pooch, Lucky was found (and promptly nabbed) over on ModTheSims.  He’s adorable.  He can now be found in the Family Album and on the Mayfield Tree.  I’ve declared him the beginning of Gen 3.  Shhhhhh!  It makes sense!  >.<

So, I was really tempted to rename the new pup “Blue”.  One: because it’s a common hippie name and Two: because he looks an awful lot like a dog I used to have, who’s name was Blue.  But the creator called him Lucky, so I stuck with that.  However, for the future, does anyone know the etiquette on these kinds of things?  Are you allowed to rename downloaded pets?  Or is it more polite to keep the name they came with?

EDIT:  Woo!  Apparently this is my 50th post on the Mayfields!  XD

Thanks for reading!  ^_^

6 Comments

    1. Great Kisser is a trait I never seem to give my sims, so I’m really looking forward to trying it out with Shaye. I also might let her have a kid. Depends on whether I keep her in the house or not. I want Thomas to have a few kids and Chloe at least one, but I haven’t find the right sim for her yet.

      Lucky is adorable, isn’t he?! *squeals* ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Shaye is a clone of her mother, Ellie, which means she’s incredibly pretty! Her personality is something completely different, though! XD I too am very proud! Even though we had to rush through 2 opportunities to get Shaye up to those good grades. O.O Such hectic-ness!

      And Lucky is soooooo adorable! *squeals some more*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

