2.40 – A Simple Thing

I was a bit too busy to post this Friday.  I was prepping for my very first time DMing a D&D campaign.  We played for 7 hours, so I spent Saturday recuperating.

But here we are at last, the climax of this beautiful thing between two lovely sims.


Thomas’s PoV

“Chloe?”

“Hmm?”

2.40 - pic1

“Would’ja come here and talk to me, please?!”

Chloe’s head jerked up from whatever sciency stuff she was messing with now. “Of course.”

I fiddled with my phone, considering my words. I really should’ve brought this up earlier.

Chloe waited patiently.

2.40 - pic2

I took a deep breath and just blurted it out. “Iwannaaskdarlenetomarrymebutidontknowhowshellrespondifshesasreadyasiamamijumpingthegunareweevenfinanciallyreadytolivetogetherbutiwanttolivewithherandhavekidswithherandforustobehappytogether!”

Chloe blinked. “Indeed,” she muttered. Then she proceeded to pull a device out of her pocket, flipped a switch, and we both listened as a recording of my voice played back. She turned a dial and it slowed down to an understandable level.

“I wanna ask Darlene to marry me, but I don’t know how she’ll respond, if she’s as ready as I am. Am I jumping the gun? Are we even financially ready to live together? But I want to live with her and have kids with her and for us to be happy together!”

Chloe nodded and turned the device off. “Indeed. Is there some sort of issue here I fail to grasp?”

2.40 - pic3

“You care for her very deeply. And I understand that she responds in kind. The next natural step for the pair of you would be to select a suitable living habitat and procreate. No doubt your children will be quite lovely and well-cared for. Human tradition dictates a wedding celebration of some kind. I believe Darlene has a fondness for purple, so an amethyst ring should be sufficient. In terms of accommodations, this is a very large house and your home. I doubt anyone will object to your young lady moving in until you two find better living elsewhere, no matter how long it takes.” She stopped, tapping a finger to her chin. “I have yet to discover an issue. Enlighten me?”

I pulled her into a hug. “You’re the best sister in the world, Chloe!” Then I set out to town, intent on finding a jeweler.

2.40 - pic4

It took me a week to find the perfect ring. It helped that Chloe knew just about every mineralogist and tinkerer in town.

It took me a lot longer to gather my courage.

2.40 - pic5

I’d treated Darlene to a night at an opera, then dinner at the cliffside bistro. I’d done this a few times, treating her out, trying to find just the right time to ask, then chickening out.

“I want to show you something,” I blurted out.

Darlene looked at me, then smirked. “Depends on what.”

I took her hand and lead her to the car that Medea’d lent me just for tonight.

2.40 - pic6

I followed the winding road through the forest, slowly moving up the mountain and farther from town.

“There’s s’posed to be a meteor shower tonight,” I said, helping Darleen out of the car.

“And so, we’re outside?”

I grinned. “It’s not like you’ll get hit by one!”

2.40 - pic7

We settled on the grass and watched the stars, scanning the sky for any trace of small rocks burning up in the atmosphere.

“I love you,” I whispered.

She smiled and kissed my cheek. “I know. And I love you too.”

We sat and chatted for a bit, until a few spots of light shot across the sky.

“Look!” Darlene cried.

“Falling stars,” I murmured.

2.40 - pic8

We watched the event for a while, just in awe over this wonder before us. It was beautiful.

But not as beautiful as she was.

2.40 - pic9

I fiddled with the small box in my pocket. Now? Was it too soon? We’d only been dating a few months. But whenever I thought about the future, I always saw her face. She was always right there beside me, sometimes with a few kids.

She was the only one I wanted.

2.40 - pic10

“Hey, it’s getting a little chilly. I’ll grab a blanket from the car,” I whispered, detangling myself from Darlene’s side.

As soon as I was away from her side, thoughts of doubt bombarded me. What do I even say?! I’d spent ages thinking about what I’d say, how I’d say it, and throwing away a forest of paper. There was still no inspiration. C’mon! She can only say no! But that was the issue! Could I even handle that?! If she wanted to leave, she wouldn’t have waited four years to do it! But I knew one thing for certain: I couldn’t lose her again.

I grabbed the blanket Medea kept stashed in her trunk. Underneath it I found my guitar. What could it hurt? “Music’s got a way of saying what can’t be said,” I whispered to myself. It was something Dad had always said as encouragement to my playing.

I walked back as calmly as I could and draped the blanket around Darlene’s shoulders. Then I started to play.

2.40 - pic11

I let the notes flow from my fingers, trying to pour every emotion I felt into those chords. Uncertainty, fear, happiness…love. So much love. That first timid love on the dance floor of Prom. The blossoming, lustful love of senior year. The fearful love of losing her, one way or another. That god-forsaken longing love, when she’s in every dream and waking thought. The all-consuming love of now, that might just be too deep for the both of us.

2.40 - pic12

Slowly, the thoughts and emotions whirling in my head slowed down, and with them my fingers. The melody quieted, the last lingering notes floating up into the sky.

Before I could think anymore, I pulled out the box.

“Darlene?”

Her beautiful blue eyes widened as I dropped to one knee.

2.40 - pic13

I’d spent ages thinking about what I’d say…but at seeing her face, it all vanished and only the words that mattered remained.

2.40 - pic14

“I love you, Darlene Bunch. And I want to be yours and you mine for the rest of our lives. No matter what happens or where we end up.” I offered up the amethyst ring. “Will you marry me?”

2.40 - pic15

“Yes!” She burst into tears. “Oh my god! Of course I’ll marry you!” She leapt into my arms sobbing and laughing at the same time.

“I love you, Darlene.” I whispered into her ear. “From when you first asked me to dance and everyday until now. I’ve loved you.”

“And I love you,” she whispered back. “I loved you every day I had you and every day I didn’t. And I don’t think that’ll ever change.”

2.40 - pic16

2.40 - pic17


Looks like we’ve got a wedding and babies coming up!

Thanks for reading!  ^_^

8 Comments

  1. I’m really glad that they didn’t get crushed by a falling meteor! That could have truly ruined this perfect evening! Now, seriously speaking, it was such a lovely proposal. I thought Thomas was so cute when he was trying to find the right words and worrying about the answer 🙂

    CAN’T WAIT FOR THE WEDDING AND THE BABIES!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

