Liebstered Again!

Greetings and salutations!  What a time its been, I only just returned to posting and people are already showering me with awards!  Talk about rewarding good behavior!  XD

This particular award, the Liebster Award, is brought to us by Kate of the Loewe Legacy and Rosemary Marie of Noble Doubt.  These two are absolutely fantastic writers with superb stories, and it’s an honor to be awarded by them!  Many thanks to you fine, fine individuals!  ❤


The Rules of Being Leibstered

I think we’re all well aware of this song-and-dance routine at this point, but for any newcomers out there, here’s the lay of the land.

The Liebster Award is for bloggers by bloggers.  It’s a way to encourage your fellow bloggers, as well as draw more attention to blogs you think deserve it.  Think of it as spreading the love.  But there’s a few rules to spread that love in the most organized manner possible.

  • Say thank you to the person who has nominated you for the award.
  • Answer the 11 questions the person has asked you.
  • Nominate people (comment on their blog to let them know).
  • Ask the people you have nominated 11 questions.

Kate’s Inquiries

Since Kate tagged me first, they get the honor of being first.  😉

1. What was your most memorable dream or nightmare?

  • I have always had very vivid dreams, ever since I can remember.  They’re always filled with colors and actions and varying worlds.  Like I said, very vivid.  The nights I don’t remember my dreams are actually fewer and farther between than otherwise.  That being said, my most memorable dream was one where nothing much actually happened, I was just over-whelmed with a sense of despair and fear and guilt.  That’s all the dream was, escalated emotion.  No visuals, no sounds, just raw emotion.  It was so different and it shook me so much that it’s stuck with me.

2. When you were a kid what silly thing were you deathly afraid of?

  • Don’t laugh.  Butterflies.  I was deathly afraid of butterflies.  I couldn’t stand them.
  • Explanation: as a kid an adult (maybe a teacher, can’t remember) told me that a butterfly’s wings were covered in these tiny scales and that, if I touched the wings, those scales would come off on my fingers and I’d never be able to get them off, even with repeatedly washing my hands.  That freaked me out for the next decade and a half.  I am now 24 and merely tolerate butterflies.  They are NOT allowed in my house, though.

3. What is your biggest fear now?

  • You’re really not pulling punches today, are you.
  • Okay, so, I’ve got a lot of fears.  There are many things in this world that I am uncomfortable with, like darkness, heights, falling, sharks, car accidents; the list goes on and on.  However, the thing about having a lot of fears is that you get used to being in a state of panic and fear.  You get used to working through fear and coming out the other side.  And at that point, any big fear is the same as a small fear.  You already know the path back to reality, it’s just a little bit longer and windier.
  • Yes, I am well aware I didn’t answer your question.  😉

4. If you could instantly know how to speak another language, what language would you choose to know?

  • Hmmm…does this include reading and writing?  If so, either German or Russian.  Both are very common languages in my field of study, so both would be useful to know.
  • If it’s just speaking…Spanish.  I live near Mexico.

5. When does time pass the fastest for you and when does it pass the slowest?

  • Dude…summer/winter break and fall/spring semester, respectively.

6. What was the strangest gift you’ve ever received?

  • My sister and dad once gave me a glass jar with a large electronic butterfly (see question 2) in it for my birthday.  I remember staring it in slowly dawning horror.  Then my sister pressed a button I hadn’t noticed until then, making the butterfly flap around spastically.  Freakiest thing I ever saw.

7. What weird smell do you really enjoy?

  • The combined sent of a clean-smelling men’s soap and freshly cut wood.

8. If you could talk to animals, which animal would you talk to and what would you ask?

  • Cockroach.  How the fuck are you still alive?!

9. Would you rather live in the wilderness far from civilization or live on the streets of a city as a homeless person?

  • Wilderness.  I grew up on the outskirts of civilization, so I know enough to get by in the wilderness.  I could find food and shelter.  Not such a sure thing in the slums of a city.

10.  If you could know the absolute and total truth to one question, what question would you ask?

  • Hmmm…this requires much thought.  Is the Axiom of Choice true or false?

11. Where do you see yourself in ten years from now?

  • Dude, I don’t even know where I’ll be in 5 years, let alone 10.  I know I’m getting my masters, one way or another, at some point.  After that, at some point, will come a PhD.  Everything else?  Meh.  Whatever will be will be.

Rosemary Marie’s Intense Curiousities

1. If you had to be named after a city, state, country, etc., which one would you want it to be?

  • *does Google search*  Limerick, ‘cuz why not?

2. Do you have anyone you go to for advice? Online or in person?

  • I tend to ask my partner for advice.  If I can’t, I sit myself down and think through things as logically as I can, removing as much emotion as possible.  I tend to not like bothering people with my problems.

3. What is your perfect pizza?

  • There’s pepperoni, Sicilian, peppers and onions, broccoli; so many great pizzas!  DON’T MAKE ME CHOOSE!  D:

4. What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?

  • Fuck, I need to get to work.

5. What is the last movie you saw and what did you think of it?

  • The last movie I saw…that would be Arrival.
  • Before I saw it I already knew it was based on the short story “Story of Your Life” by I-can’t-remember-who, so I knew how everything would turn out.  That being said, the movie itself was very well done, a pleasure to watch.  I greatly enjoyed how they visualized the main ideas of the short story.  Both movie and story explore the concept of time and how it flows, along with how humans learn and perceive reality, with a sprinkling of fate vs free-will hidden in-between.  It’s a very intriguing combination and really gets the brain thinking.  I greatly recommend it.
  • Whadja know, at the end of the day, I’m actually an intellectual.  XD

6. If you had a chance for a “do-over” in life, what would you do differently?

  • Oh, man, that’s a helluva question.
  • At the tip of my tongue is “Yes, I absolutely have things I would do-over in a heart-beat if given the chance.”  But then I wait and give it some thought.
  • Of course, there are things, instances in my past, that I sometimes think about having a different outcome.  What would it be like to have not suffered these consequences?  To have experienced this instead of that?  What if I chose left instead of right?  What if?  I think that’s a question that most people find themselves pondering at one point or another.  It’s humanity’s greatest ability, to look back on ourselves, to think about the past and apply it to the future.
  • Now, what have my experiences gained me?  A bit of fear, some heart-ache, a dash of guilt.  What about if I hadn’t had them?  What would change if I didn’t have those emotional responses?  I would have made different choices.  Not in every case, but I’m just like every other human, I apply my past experiences to decisions regarding my future.  I learn from mistakes.  Maybe not very well, but I at least adjust.  So, if I change my past, I change my present, and thus my future.
  • So, I guess it comes down to, are you content with your present?  What about your future?  For me, things are a little uncertain, sure, but this is the best I’ve been in years.  I can see actual improvement.  And I can see small choices that lead me to this point.
  • So, if I had a chance for a “do-over”, I wouldn’t choose a past moment I regret.  Instead, I will take a very recent moment sitting at home alone watching youtube videos and do that over to instead fill out more job applications.

7. What was your favorite toy as a kid?

  • A stuffed black, white, & red dog that I named Puppy.  I know, I was a regular baby Dickens.  XD

8. What is the last thing you bought?

  • Probably groceries, so milk, eggs, cabbage, and carrots.  Maybe chips for D&D night.

9. Have you ever heard of Euchre, Dutch Blitz or Farkle and do you know how to play?

  • O_o  I too can smash my hand against my keyboard  z,lgvyczioxhdnqwkm1[DMRO3[

10. How old were you when you last went trick or treating?

  • Dude, I live in a college town.  I went trick-or-treating as a 23-year-old.

11. If you could travel in time, would you go to the past or to the future and why?

  • Oh, god.  This ties into my long-winded response to 6.
  • Short answer: the future, so I can grab some winning lottery numbers.  XD

Throwing Confetti About and it Hits…


Nosing About

  1. What’s your favorite beverage?
  2. Do you write characters that share your viewpoints or clash?  In-between?
  3. One word: ALIENS!  What do you think?
  4. To you, what is the best sounding word?  What about the worst?
  5. Put your rebel cap on.  What’s the worst thing you’ve done that you’ve gotten a thrill out of?
  6. You’ve had your fun, but now the psychic police are coming!  What do you do?!
  7. Do you know your personality type?  If so, care to share?
  8. Blue. Red. Green.  What’s the first thing you think of?
  9. What was/is your most hated school subject?  Why?
  10. You’ve got to leave to someplace faraway for some reason or another.  You’ve got 10 minutes to pack one bag.  What do you take?
  11. You’re about to die and need to pass on some grain of knowledge for future generations.  What do you say?

A billion thank yous once again to Kate and Rosemary Marie for throwing the Mayfields into the pot.  It’s always a pleasure to be counted among so many fantastic writers.  :3

And special thanks to you!  Yes, you, you fantastic sonuvagun!  😉  You make all this possible.  By dropping by, spending a few minutes chatting, and passing along all those good vibes, you make the world a bit brighter.  So keep on being awesome!  ❤

