3.0 – Yo

I don’t even know what to write here.

So, I’ve written a few things, mostly short stories.  Mostly sci-fi, ‘cuz sci-fi’s awesome.  And it’s not like I just slap words together until the Word document reaches a certain number of pages.  I put actual thought into those stories!  Sci-fi has to make sense!  You have to create a world that the reader can get sucked into and believe in.

I guess I just thought this would be easier than actual writing.  I just talk about me instead!  But no.  I think I’ve been staring at the screen for an hour now.

Let’s see…if this was a story I was making up I’d start at an interesting point.  Maybe a point where things changed in my character’s experience.  Or maybe right before things changed so the reader could get a sense of where the character came from before things blew up in their paper face.

I guess that’s not a bad way to start.  The last big change in my life?  Well, that happened when I was ten.

My family moved 10,000 miles across the world.  No, that’s not an exaggeration.  It actually might be an understatement.  Yep.  The actual number is 10,441.4 miles.

I was born, and spent the beginning of my childhood, in a little Simican town called Sunset Valley.  Yeah, it was a little hokey.  As far as I know, my parents were born and raised there too, just like pretty much everyone else in Sunset Valley.  I wouldn’t say I liked it there, but it wasn’t a bad place.  Some people were jackasses, but, hey, that species is pretty widespread in its invasiveness.

What was I talking about?  Oh yeah…

So my family moved from backwoods Sunset Valley to resort riddled Isla Paradiso.  Yeah, it was a bit of a culture shock, I’ll admit.  We moved right after Christmas, and I remember wondering where the snow was when we landed.

My family; Dad calls it the Mayfield Clan.  Though I think one of my uncles coined the phrase.  My dad’s the fine older gentleman at the right end there, Mortimer Mayfield.  A little older than most dads, sure, but he’s still moving.  The tall blonde next to him is my mother, Chloe Mayfield.  She’s a game developer; a real computer nerd.  The other blonde is my mother’s sister, Shaye, or as I call her, Tia.  She’s never worn shoes, and she speaks in weird earth-mother-type riddles.  It’s cool.  The short blonde in yellow is my cousin, Cloud Flower.  Yeah, she’s Tia’s kid.  And no one knows who her dad is except me.  Well, and Tia, of course.  And that strapping young ginger lad at the left end?  That’s my brother, Walter; my little bro.  Little as in younger.  Yeah, he’s still a good foot taller than me.  I ain’t mad.

The whole reason we moved was my brother, Walter.  He’s not normal.  But normal is overrated and pissy.  Long story short, Walter was getting shit for being different.  Luckily, my dad was smart about it and decided to just move us all out somewhere where no one knew about Walt’s difference.

Walter is the best, goddamn person to have ever walked this planet.  He wants to save people.  No, he really does.  He’s deathly afraid of water, but wants to be a lifeguard because he believes that’s what the world needs.  How awesome can you get?!

“Tony!  Are you ready yet?  If we don’t leave soon, we’ll be late!”

Speaking of my beautiful brother, that would be him.

“Anthony.  We agreed on 2 pm.  It’s 2:13.”

And that’s my mother.  She’s the only one who calls me Anthony.

Anthony?  Yeah, that’s me, but I prefer Tony.  It’s less letters.  I went by Ant for a while, but it got too confusing as I’ve got four of those already.

Yep, I’m Tony Mayfield.  And this is my story!


Generation 3 has finally arrived!  😀  What do you think of Tony?  I’d love some feedback!

A house update is coming, probably next Monday. It’ll just be me showing off the house as I haven’t figured out how to include more shots of the house with Tony’s perspective how it is.

Bonus pictures of the other Mayfields at their new island houses:

The Thompsons at a modified Lexington (placed from Library).  I love the Lexington.  It’s such a good big-family home.  Lots of space.

The Wolffs at the Modern Marvel (Isla Paradiso house).  It’s a good house, a bit too straight-up for me, but I was able to make a children’s room for…reasons.  😉

The Steels at a heavily modified Kid Friendly, Mother Approved (placed from Library).  Another great house.  Honestly, a lot of the pre-made houses that came with Generations are pretty well-made.  I usually throw out some clutter, but that’s it.  I made this one look more island-y since it directly overlooks the ocean.

And Donovan with Titus Goth at another, less modified Kid Friendly, Mother Approved (placed from Library).  I was pretty tired at this point and my laziness got the better of me.  But like I said, you just can’t go wrong with the Generation homes.  I think Donovan takes his baby girl and moves out pretty soon after this, though.

Note:  Just a quick one, but I thought I’d let you guys know.  I’m planning on doing something a wee bit different for the writing style of generation 3.  Normally I try to write how I think the narrator would actually speak.  That’s why Ellie’s book was full of southern twang and Chloe’s was a bit more analytical and colder.

However, for generation 3, due to certain things, the chapters won’t be written like Tony’s talking.  This one is the only exception, since he’s introducing himself, thus, talking.  Instead they’ll be written how I think he would write them.  Less of a pure narrative and more of an autobiography.  Spoilers: Tony’s a writer.  He doesn’t have any traits for it, but he rolled a lot of wishes for it early on and has now almost maxed the skill.  So, I figured I’d work that in.

Thanks for reading!  ^_^

22 Comments

  1. The beginning of generation 3, so exciting, isn’t it?
    I really like the way you connect with the characters you write about. I don’t think I’m ever that able to connect with an heir that’s not like me. I appreciate how you give a lot into this narrative.
    Nice how you have shown us all the houses and took an effort to make them be suitable for our lovely Mayfield Clan.
    I’m interested in how you’re going to approach writing as Tony differently. I am looking forward to see what it is you mean by “more of an autobiography”.So nice that he’s a writer, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! It really is! Tony’s very different, but, I think, in a good way. And generation 3 promises to have some other very interesting characters, as well.

      Thanks! I’m glad you think so! I just try and stay true to the sim’s traits. Ellie was unique in that I created her to be a southern belle: Natural Cook, Flirty, Perfectionist. Chloe was a Loner, Genius, Computer Whiz; with such standard nerd-traits, she couldn’t be anything else. Tony’s personality is still in flux, being only a teen, but I think I what trait I’ll be giving him when he ages up. And I think it’ll go perfectly with how he’s written. 😉

      So, for Tony, how I imagine him speaking is like how this chapter-intro went. But how I imagine him writing is very different. He’s level 7 Writing at this point in the story, so I’d imagine he’s pretty good at it. How he writes is more well-described than how he speaks. There’s less of those run-on/off sentences and more appropriate structure. He uses better descriptive words when he writes as to when he speaks, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I, too, stay true to their traits. It is fun, but sometimes I don’t feel like I’m doing this right. Sam’s going to be challenge, I just know it. I can’t wait to see what you’ll go for with Tony.
        So more detailed ways of writing? This shall be nice and he is good at what he does to be a teenager and already level 7.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I CAUGHT UP!! Freakin’ finally!! Excited to read the chapters as they come this time, as much as I enjoy binge reading 😛
    I see you brought Titus… Is that just because he’s Mortimer’s brother, or was I right in my guess about him being Cloud Flower’s father?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Tony takes Good are spins it on its head. XD We’ll see what you think next chapter, when we explore how he interacts with everyone in the family.

      But yes, Tony has a mile-wide soft spot for Walter. It is adorable! :3

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How are you playing in Isla Paridiso? Is it not glitchy for you? I know everytime I tried to play it was so laggy and glitchy, but anyway, I really like Tony. I never thought he’d go by Tony though. He just seemed like the kid who would stick with Anthony but I’m looking forward to seeing him grow up and fit into his personality more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isla Paradiso has been super laggy in the past, but it seems to be behaving itself this time around. I played ahead quite a bit just to be sure. I got some world fixes from Mod the Sims (ellacharmed) and pruned my mods folder, and that seems to have done the trick. Fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. And here they come again!!! Isla Paradiso, BEWARE!

    I see Tony has a thing for numbers like his dear mother. I still remember when Chloe said there was exactly 98.6% – or something like that – probability that something would or wouldn’t happen… Anthony is definitely his mother’s son 😀

    That line about Mortimer’s movement capacities cracked me up, Tony sure has a good sense of humor! It will be interesting to see how you’re gonna incorporate the autobiographical approach to the whole generation.

    I can’t wait to see Walter saving the swimmers drowning in the waters of Isla Paradiso! The 3rd generation will be so much fun! Can’t wait 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Tony got Genius from Chloe, but his Couch Potato trait means he tends to laze around playing video games and writing. XD Apparently, Couch Potato means the sim loves comfy chairs.

      I can barely contain myself for Lifeguard Walter! But I’ve convinced myself that Generation 3 will be the first Mayfields to attend university. Maybe they’ll find some college love! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Zachary is also a Couch Potato and he pursued the career as a writer as well. I believe this trait is perfect for writers; all you have to do is to get them the most comfortable chair there is and you’re all set! 🙂

        It will be fun seeing the Mayfields attend the uni! I enjoy reading stories featuring the Sims University simply because there are always the same classmates/roommates/teachers so it’s interesting to see how the others portray their characters… Good luck with Walter!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

